L’ Union Fait La Force

The french phrase that speaks out as Haiti’s motto is probably the most appropriate way to sum up their year of devastation, pain, tragedy and loss.

Unity Creates Strength

It’s the year anniversary of the earthquake that shattered this tiny country. And unlike the moments such as 9.11.01, when George W. became president and the occurrence of the Virginia Tech shootings, I don’t remember where I was or what I was doing when I heard about the Haiti crisis. I don’t know if that makes me a horrible human being or not but it’s the truth… I didn’t think much about what was happening. I think part of it may have had to do with there being so many natural disasters within the last few years, that this ‘old hat’ sort of response was the easiest way to take it in. “Another disaster, more aid, another city, country, hometown ect. to rebuild.”

It’s so easy here, in my little world… where I can just try to ignore tragedy.

So, here we are… a year out. Haiti has been hit time and time again this year. First the devastating earthquake, then the onslot of cholera and now the rise in crimes against women that is resulting in a massive hike in pregnancies. But through the pain, sickness and crime– they are rebuilding, little by little… unity has given them strength

You are here in all the rubble, where the broken-hearted grieve.

-Tim Glenn

 


Their response is that of defiance, they refuse to be beaten down, they refuse to stop rebuilding, to stop reclaiming their lives, they refuse to give up. Their strength comes from their unity, how are we helping them find that strength? How are we responding? I don’t remember where I was when I heard, I don’t remember my exact response or how much I really cared to invest at the time… but I remember now. I’ve seen the photo’s, I’ve heard the stories. Now, what I didn’t remember… I can’t forget.

What can we do to remember Haiti throughout this month and this year? Find a way to make a difference, if you lack funds and means… spread awareness… get behind a cause that is doing something and learn how you can make a difference.

 

Photo’s used with permission from WorldHelp

@world_help

#rememberhaiti

WorldHelp on Facebook

Remember Haiti Twibbon

1 Comment

Filed under Human Interest

One response to “L’ Union Fait La Force

  1. How scary the whole scene is, especially the PICS, which drown out the words.

    Haiti got a double dose of disaster and destruction. A few years from now the year will be gone in my mind, but the images will remain in my mind for as long as live.

    For me, 9/11, and JFK’s death, will be etched in my mind for as long as I live. I was sitting in a hotel bar in Tokyo, when the story shown, Lyndon Johnson, and the Dallas PICS.

    One half an hour before a taxi had just given me the ride of my life from the airport to the hotel, now these news casts in Japanese now less.

    I lived in Frankfurt, Germany at the time, and didn’t even know who Lyndon Johnson was!

    Le peuple et le monde pleure face aux catastrophes et la destruction.

    Ciao! Charlie

Leave a comment