Wanderlust

I have found that I can never sit still for very long- I bore too easily.

Before I was 15 I don’t recall knowing anyone who traveled overseas, with the exception of my father who was in the Navy and my mother who was an Army kid (but that was before I was born so I don’t count it). I’m sure there were people I knew or even family I have that had made their way to exotic places, but none come to mind. The only people who I knew of that lived anywhere but America were the missionaries that came to church. But I didn’t see them as “travelers” they just lived half a world away. It could be that I grew up in a very small town where life has always revolved around family and rarely reaches beyond the state line, or I could blame it on the fact that I just lived in my own little world that consisted of climbing trees and riding horses.

Things that you love don’t always have monumentally extravagant beginnings. Take painting for example,  the first time I painted something it looked like an abstract piece done by a 4-year-old. I don’t know if I’ve improved all that much, but I do love it and all of the creativity that goes into a piece and you can usually decipher what it is meant to be.  Similarly, my first time on a plane was to Chicago to meet people who would be going on a trip Brazil and it was not the greatest of experiences. It was on the tragic day of  9/11/01, I was in the air as the World Trade Centers were being hit, the chaos was just beginning. We were the last car allowed out of the airport… it was one of those experiences that will always be stuck in my mind and probably put my mother into a deeper level of stress than she ever thought possible. This was just the beginning of my travel experiences, it was scary, filled with the uncertainty and it was a truly horrible first experience with travel.

Yet I’ve had a hard time keeping my feet in spot ever since. Even when there are bad first experiences there may be a new hobby or talent waiting to be exposed. I fell in love with wandering, seeing new places and meeting new people. I’ve moved away from home, traveled across the world with my closest of friends and experienced things I never would have dreamed up while in my climbing tree. I’ve developed a severe case of wanderlust and don’t plan on getting rid of it anytime soon.

If you have yet to reach beyond your own door, or experience life with a community other than the one you live in, why not get started? Traveling and living life beyond your borders is one of the greatest and most exciting experiences one could have. Take advantage of it…

 

I’m about to.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Human Interest, Travel

2 responses to “Wanderlust

  1. I dream of traveling quite often. I have only been out of the country 4 times and all of the trips were to resort areas in Mexico. I dream of visiting Europe, South America and Canada. How many countries have you visited?

    • Stop dreaming and start doing? Then dream some more… then do some more 🙂

      I’ve been to Brazil, Thailand, Laos and Myanmar… I’m recently working on plans to invade Europe- which is something I have been dreaming about for ages! One step at a time…

Leave a Reply

