Sticks and Stones

My very first guest post! And the author is none other than my Mom!

Who’s Mother isn’t their biggest fan right?

I remember all too well the limerick “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.”  What an utterly false statement.  As children we want to believe that they don’t hurt but the truth is that they cut deeper than any knife ever could.  As a child I was often the brunt of my classmate’s jokes, it made me feel inferior and insecure.  When I graduated from school I felt freed from that mockery but yet I could not break free from the oppression that it left in my soul.  God used very caring people to teach me that true freedom comes only from Him and that the degradation that I carried with me was not a reflection of who He created me to be, it instead was the disillusionment of men.  I was reading Psalm 31 yesterday and was blessed by these verses:

19 Oh, how abundant is your goodness,
which you have stored up for those who fear you
and worked for those who take refuge in you,
in the sight of the children of mankind!
20 In the cover of your presence you hide them
from the plots of men;
you store them in your shelter
from the strife of tongues.

24 Be strong, and let your heart take courage,
all you who wait for the Lord!

As my children were growing up I gave each one of them a special name, a pet name that sticks yet to this day.  Their friends in turn gave me a name: Momma Duck.  Why Momma Duck you ask?  Well, I was never shy or afraid to take all my kids and their friends with me to the store; they in turn would follow along as if I had my own trail of ducklings.  So the name fits, but there are many times that the names we are given don not fit. We allow ourselves to be defined by others labels or by the names they throw our way. The sticks of ridicule and the stones of nicknames can be so destructive. I have been blessed to be able to step out of that destruction and be called the names the Lord has given to me; wife, daughter, mother and sister- these are the names that I treasure.  I have grown to love my pet name and use it often when I text or Facebook my “adopted kids.”  As for Tiffany, I have my own pet name for her, Baby Girl because she will always be my Baby Girl and that is something special for us.

How about you?  Did the cruelty of others overwhelm you?  Turn to the One who can give you the freedom you seek and the rest of knowing His names for you are spoken with love.

MommaDuckSherrie

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflection

Leave a Reply

