History, its in the making.

A hearty cheers to all the women out there, it’s the 24th birthday of our very own history month. March was designated Women’s History Month back in 1987 when it was decided that there should be an entire 31 days to celebrate the history, stories, achievements and inspiration of women.

I’m taking the opportunity to celebrate this month by doing a few things. I’ll be working on a series of posts about the 10 of the most influential women in human history.  Disclaimer: these women are ones that have altered history or inspired others. I can’t say that I will agree with all their views or opinions, but regardless- they are in some facet, remarkable women.

I’m also going to post some of my thoughts on where we as women are today and how I see us shaping the future- whether the horizon looks good, bad or ugly.

And of course, I’ll throw in something here and there about the women that have inspired me and have helped mold and shape me into who I am.

This is an exciting month ladies- celebrate where we have come from. I find that feminism has an extremist side that has turned these sort things into an anti-man-bra-burning-liberating fest when in reality, it really does not have so much to do with the role of men but the role of women and how that has evolved.

So as you are celebrating being part of the journey that we are privileged to be on, don’t get caught up in measuring us up as the superior gender, or belittling men because you feel they have been just horrible oppressors of your freedom for all these years. Instead- rejoice in being a woman and let your joy for who you are created to be only compliment the other people who you are surrounded with: men or women.

Leave a comment

Filed under Human Interest

Leave a Reply

