One Week

So I recently watched a movie called One Week, an interesting indie film about a man who is told he has stage 4 cancer and if he doesn’t seek immediate treatment he will soon depart this world. So, what does he do? Hops on a motorcycle and drives across Canada, of course. Sounds like my kind of man.

The whole premise rests on a person knowing what they want out of life and if it’s about to run out, what they plan to do with those last few days. Are you going to marry the person you are engaged to, are you going to quit your job and travel the world, are you going to say all the things you always knew you were supposed to say to that one person? What would you do? Where would you go?

A friend and I were recently discussing bucket lists, dreams, fears and adventures. My favorite type of conversation. And although I know there are many things I would love to do within my time here on earth, I’ve never actually saT down and thought out what exactly that list looks like. He said:

“Make a bucket list. Add to it, take things away from it as you go… but you should definitely decide what things you want to experience in life.”

Turns out, it’s a bigger project than I thought… but it’s obvious where I would start..

  • Travel to: Italy, Norway, Tibet, Holland, Pakistan, Greece, Alaska, England, Morocco, Israel and New Zealand. (off to an ambitious start)
  • Learn Farsi and Italian
  • Get paid to cook for people
  • Learn how to scuba dive (without going into a fear-induced coma)
  • Learn how to ski
  • Open my own store (coffee, tea, hookah, art & furniture sounds ideal.)
  • Get a master’s degree
  • Get a doctorate
  • Write a book
  • Hot-air balloon ride- yes, please.
  • Climb a mountain
  • See the Northern lights
  • Have a garden
  • Learn an instrument
  • Learn the flamingo dance
  • Live in another country for a year
  • Trek through a rainforest
  • Learn how to make an origami crane
  • Fall in love
  • Change the world
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One Week

  1. I hope you accomplish everything on your list, and more. And I hope you have 100 more years to get it all done. I keep my bucket list in my wallet. Every time I check off one item, I seem to add three more. Guess I’ll just keep living 🙂

Leave a Reply

